A Guide to Planar Attunement in RIFT

82e1f RiftGame 01sanctum ceremony A Guide to Planar Attunement in RIFT

Advancing beyond the level cap in an MMO is often a way for all types of players to keep improving their characters. Games like Everquest 2, Age of Conan, and City of Heroes utilize a post-level-cap advancement system with great success. It’s no surprise that RIFT is adding a similar system.

RIFT’s approach to “alternate advancement,” as it is often called thanks to Everquest 2, is the Planar Attunement system. This system lets players continue developing their character by increasing important stats, becoming stronger against one type of planar force, and even improve their mobility in Telara.

After reaching level 50, players unlock access to the Planar Attunement system by completing the Chronicle of Attunement. Technically, one does not have to complete the Chronicle associated with Planar Attunement to unlock it. However, it is advised to see at least once since it’s a nice solo Chronicle that’s pretty entertaining and will level up your planar attunement experience quite quickly. To access this Chronicle, simply press “J” and select “Ceremony of Attunement” to get started. When a player first reaches 50, their faction leader (Cyril or Asha) will contact the player via mail giving him/her these instructions.

During the Chronicle, the player will notice that his/her experience bar is filling up. This shows up where the player’s normal, green experience bar was as a yellow bar instead. Everything the level 50 does will contribute to planar experience. Of course, running dungeons, completing other Chronicles, doing raids, and shutting rifts in Telara will give the player planar attunement experience. Killing other players in the open world or in warfronts will count as well.

Once the player’s experience bar fills up, s/he has leveled up with planar experience. Leveling up gives the player 100 Attunement Points that can be spent in one of the six trees available. To spend the Attunement Points simply press “U” to bring up the Planar Attunement menu. All callings will have the option to spend Attunement Points in the plane of life, death, water, fire, earth or air; however, only one can be chosen. Each calling in RIFT has different planar attunement options based on the six planes. For example, a rogue will see different bonuses than a cleric in his/her planar attunement menu.

82e1f RiftGame 02using the pa lure A Guide to Planar Attunement in RIFT

To start getting the benefits from Planar Attunement, the player must spend a point in the plane tree of their choosing. The center honeycomb is a planar lure specific to the plane chosen and costs 100 Attunement Points to unlock. For instance, spending a point in the Life Plane allows the player to open rifts as Life rifts every time. This ability does not replace the original Planar Lure, and it can still be used to open a random rift instead of only a life rift in this example. Acquiring this specific planar lure will open up all honeycombs next to it. Now, a player can start unlocking stat bonuses and more from that planar tree.

Subsequent honeycombs cost varying amounts of Attunement Points. Most honeycombs have ranks and each rank will cost more Attunement Points to purchase. The least a honeycomb will cost to unlock is 100 Attunement Points. The honeycombs are color coded to visually denote what they improve.

  • Blue – increases a core stat
  • Green – increases defense toward a specific planar type
  • Yellow – increases offences toward a specific planar type
  • Purple – alters movement or increases the amount of planar charges available
  • Red – improves weapon mastery

With that in mind, let’s look at what characters can expect from each planar tree in Planar Attunement. As stated, each calling will see different things in each of the planar attunement planes. First, let’s look at clerics’ and mages’ option within the Planar Attunement system.

If you’re looking for some more information about Planar Attunement, check out this guide from MMOsite!



Telara Chronicles